top of page

WSL Season Kicks off at Snapper Rocks


Stephanie Gilmore ripping at Roxy Pro Gold Coast 2015

The ladies of the World Surf League are putting the jerseys back on at Snapper Rocks for the Roxy Pro Gold Coast. Coming off the 2015 World Title win, Carissa Moore is happy to be back, doing what she loves, and aiming to raise the bar on The Tour for the women.

"Hopefully we get some good waves and we can put on a show. I just really want to continue to be passionate, and enthusiastic and surf with my heart and put on good performances.” she said at the pre-contest conference.

While Carissa is fresh off her third world title, six time world champion surfer Stephanie Gilmore is coming back from an injury. As anyone who has seen Steph in form knows, she could very well come back better than ever, and has home break advantage at Snapper Rocks.

"I’ve been training hard and I’m feeling fitter than ever, but I also know the level of surfing on Tour has never been higher. It’s exciting.” said Steph.

While one surfer comes back from an injury, another is out with one. Lakey Peterson is sitting out the Roxy pro with an ankle injury. Lakey killed it in 2015, consistently finishing in the top five at eight events in a row. Lakey broke her ankle while surfing in Ventura.

"I hit the closeout section and I was coming down the face when I noticed this big backwash. I hadn't seen a single backwash all day either. Snips [Peterson's coach Mike Parsons] was on the beach, and he said the wave just exploded around me. I felt my left ankle go right away." she told WSL. But she's taking notes from Steph and Courtney Conologue, who also sat out after an injury in late 2014. "Courtney came back from injury last year and nearly won the title," she says. "And I've been seeing Steph lately, after her injury, and she's looking really good right now."

One thing is for sure- these ladies will put on a serious shred show in 2016.

Here's who's facing off in Round 1 of the Roxy Pro Gold Coast: Heat 1: Tyler Wright (AUS), Johanne Defay (FRA), Alessa Quizon (HAW) Heat 2: Bianca Buitendag (ZAF), Nikki Van Dijk (AUS), Coco Ho (HAW) Heat 3: Carissa Moore (HAW), Chelsea Tuach (BRB), Isabella Nichols (AUS) Heat 4: Courtney Conlogue (USA), Sage Erickson (USA), Bronte Macaulay (AUS) Heat 5: Sally Fitzgibbons (AUS), Malia Manuel (HAW), Laura Enever (AUS) Heat 6: Stephanie Gilmore (AUS), Tatiana Weston-Webb (HAW), Keely Andrew (AUS)

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
bottom of page